Posted by: beccathomas | April 28, 2010

PR OpenMic (Topic of the Week 9 &10)

I am currently taking a PR writing class at Georgia Southern University.  My professor assigned us to create an account at PROpenMic, and test the application out.  It was a really easy process when I created my account on their site.  They just simply asked me a few questions about myself, my involvement in the Public Relations worlds, and my future aspirations for the Public Relations field.  After answering those questions and selecting a profile picture, the site quickly generated my own personal account.  I was surprised how easy of a process it actually was.

After using this application, I can clearly see why this site would be an important asset to any person in the Public Relations field.  It seems that the site’s primary purpose is to serve as a way for people to network and stay connected.  The networking is more specific than using Facebook, because on this site you are networking with people who are already in or are interested in Public Relations.  It is a quick and easy way to get in touch with people who share many common interest, because you are working in the same field.  The site allows you to post things about yourself and what kind of Public Relations your interested in.  This is helpful so that you can get linked up with others who share that in common with you.  This can also be helpful with those looking for a job, because your profile lists some many things that would give an employer an insider’s look.  It also has pages that you can look on to find internships and job offerings, which is especially helpful with the current economy status.    Another neat thing about this site is that it has a link where you can start or join forums.  This allows you to have conversations and discussions with many people interested and passionate about your subject matter.

The site in my opinion is definitely worth checking it out!  It doesn’t take long to set up an account, and I think you will find that it is so helpful!  So, take a few minutes and check out the PR OpenMic website.

Leave a Reply

Categories

