Posted by: beccathomas | April 8, 2009

Insider’s view on the World of PR

For my PR class we were suppose to interview someone that is currently in the PR field.  I interviewed Abby Hennington, who is in charge of all the PR for Project Jack (www.projectjack.org) which is through the company Unscripted Photography (http://www.unscriptedphotography.com).   Project Jack is inspirational and it’s easy to see why Abby and many others are so passionate it!  If you have a few minutes take a chance to check out their websites, because I’m sure you’ll enjoy their work/photos as much as I did!  Below is an interview I had with Abby that gives a little insiders view on the world of PR.   

  • What’s a typical week like? (If no week is typical, then what was last week like?)

 I update the facebook page for Project Jack, and put out updates. I also keep posts current in different chat rooms and message boards. When magazines or local newspapers want a quote or information, I give information and interviews. I do all parent communication leading up to a photo shoot, and compile all medical information on the child as well as family preferences on location and time.

  • Tell me about a project you worked on that you are especially proud of.

A local magazine did an interview with my partner January, as well as myself. It went really well and generated a 4 page article in their magazine. The writing was FABULOUS and it really got the word out about our company and special needs in our area. We got a lot of very positive feedback. I’m also very proud of the company overall, as Project Jack was my brainchild and pet project with Unscripted Photography.

  • How important is writing in your career?

The wording on the website is important. Emails are frequent, with clients and other business people. Other than that, most of what I do is over the phone or in a personal interview. Truthfully, I don’t write very much.

  • What three tips would you offer someone just starting out in PR?

Confidence is key. If you don’t believe in what you are doing, you’re in the wrong line of work. It’s important to be passionate about who you represent, and to be ready to answer just about anything…and answer it well. Quickly!

  • What do you do to keep current in the PR industry?

I’m constantly researching special needs children, viruses and genetic disorders. I work with therapy clinics for children, and donate time and product, to keep our name out there.

  • What do you wish you would have known before starting your career in PR?

How long it takes to get a new division of a business going, and profitable!

  • How does technology affect your daily work?

A TON! We use professional grade cameras and lighting equipment. We both work on updating the websites constantly, keeping them fresh and linked well. It’s a constant chore to work on search criteria, so that our site will come up quickly in google searches and such. I have NO IDEA what we would do without email and data packages on our cell phones!

  • What has surprised you the most about working in PR?

How often you get recognized in public for the company you represent, and how handy that can be!

Leave a Reply

Categories

